Ethical Issues: Digital Rights Management

Alright, well I take a pretty uncharacteristic stance on this issue, considering I’m a teenager and should be all about “Stay away from my privacy, government!” and, “leave my pirating alone!”

I find it very arrogant and pretentious to assume that the government is going to use this, “backdoor” to get into your computer; if there really is something useful to the government in there, or you are doing something illegal, more power to the government for doing their job.

While I enjoy the benefits of watching movies, film, and listening to music online, that I would have had to buy a decade back- I understand that this is unfair to those who worked on them. It doesn’t help the economy either to stream stuff online, I’m guessing things like youtube will be erradicated sometime in the future so I’m reaping the benefits right now. I say this because, the “fair-use provision of the copyright law,” is being extended too far- giving people the choice of a free online product compared to a purchase price at the store outside your home.  Of course companies are going to take precautions to protect their product, if people are angry at them they should be angry at stores that install metal detectors to prevent shoplifters. However, the issue with Sony should stop at the computer software engineer’s folly of leaving open security holes for viruses, and not giving the “uninstall” option for XCP.

Overall, the computer programmers get their karmic kick-in-the-ass because they are just that, computer programmers, and i can not imagine a hell worse than that.

I do agree, however, that it isn’t illegal, but long-term smarter for business to allow CD consumers to use the product freely, how they choose and not be confined to DRM restrictions. At this musictechnology.net this writer notes that DRM is a “necessary evil” but thinks that Bill Gates is right in saying that people should be able to freely use the product (in this case a CD) they purchased instead of buying a CD and then having to “rip it” in order to be ethically right and legally right.

10 Responses to “Ethical Issues: Digital Rights Management”

  1. Kris Murray info 102 Says:

    I completely agree on all your points. I say it is about time someone else in my generation doesnt believe the government is trying to “steal” from us. 9/11 showed how weak this country is and anyone who says we should limit national intelligence is an idiot. I am sure the families of 9/11 would be convincing enough for those dumb Americans. I also like your point with Sony. It was the software engineers fault and not just the entire company. I guess it is sad to say that some people will do anything such as jump the suing bandwagon when it comes to getting a little dough out of it. I put that along with the conspiracy that the Moon isnt real and 9/11 didnt happen. Anyway good points!

  2. Kehinde Adebowale Says:

    Interesting Blog!!!! I agree with the points you made espacially the point about downloading music, because the artists who work on these musics before bringing out an abulm go through sleepless nights to try and bring out good music, and all mist of us do is just go on our computers and download music. as for me, i buy CDs of my favorite artists, byut artist i dont really like i listen to for free. And also the point you mentioned about the government not trying to steal from us is something i try to explain to must people because most think the government tries to steal from us which is false because they look into our computers mostly for our protectin.

  3. Brian Riewer Says:

    Sorry I have to do this buddy.

    The government does not have unadulterated powers to eavesdrop on anyone’s computer whenever they may feel like it, regardless of the legality of my actions. If I’m doing something wrong, and you have any proof, then get a warrant. Otherwise, they are violating your rights as protected under the Fourth Amendment.

    I would agree with your defense of stopping people from stealing from the artists that make this music, if that defense accepted by those same artists. Overwhelmingly, it has not. Radiohead, Nine Inch Nails, My Morning Jacket, Foo Fighters, Switchfoot, and Dave Matthew’s Band have all spoken out against this technology. Why should I support it if they don’t? Regardless, I still love you roomie and hope you don’t get too pissed when you read this.

  4. bmartin9 Says:

    You do have some good points..i agree that artists should have there work protected and they should get paid for it but at the same time i think that they shouldn’t be able to put some backdoor programs into that DRM. Also you have a good point about the fair-use provision being stretched a little to far..we have come to a point in our society in which its extremely easy to get copyrighted material for free and i can see a definite problem with that.

  5. Alex Cegielski Says:

    “more power to the government for doing their job.” i don’t feel like it is the government’s job to invade people’s privacy and violate their rights. secretly monitoring people’s computers through backdoors, especially if it is without a warrant, is clearly a violation of the 4th amendment. while i agree that the government should be allowed to crack down on illegal activities, i don’t feel like spying on people and invading their privacy without a warrant is the right way to go about it.

  6. tiramisutou Says:

    I think you brought about a lot of interesting points that I didn’t think about. I take a lot of things like music and videos I find on the video for granted not knowing that tomorrow they might not be there for me to view. I think that companies should definitely continue with copyright protection, but beyond that, I don’t think it would be right for the government to spy on people unless they have good reason to.

  7. rossinfo102 Says:

    I agree especially with what you are saying about the government using such backdoors. If you are doing something illegal then you obviously deserve to be caught. Additionally, I share your views on the downloading issues. We should not complain that people do not want to give away their music/products for free. These are people’s jobs here….we don’t expect a car repair to be free so why should music or a video game be free?

  8. swayback Says:

    Good blog. You really boiled down the issues here and put out some good points. I particularly like the metal detector analogy.
    I can agree with you on most everything you said, but I will question your opinions on the career choices of computer programmers. I can’t help thinking karma has been slacking off on it’s ass-kicking if it’s reserving spots for computer programmers over other more deserving individuals.

  9. swayback Says:

    typo: “its”

  10. Pawel Grom Says:

    I really like your response especially about the government intelligence and the reasons why it should be developed for our protection. On the other hand I also agree that downloading music over internet or videos is really unethical at it is the main reason why such backdoors were created. But I also believe that most people download illegally the media over internet just because artists or companies charge too much for their products and most people cannot afford to buy them, thus they choose to dl them for free.

Leave a Reply

